Sun Subscriber Website Login



</head> About Face Awards to honor nine area students
Please wait....
News Story
Updated: 04/09/2014 08:00:03AM

About Face Awards to honor nine area students

Share this story:

Christine Roslow

Text Size:

Nine area students will be recognized on April 10 at the About Face Awards scheduled to take place at the Norta Mayo Hall in Winter Haven.

From Bartow those being honored include Keyon Argro from Bartow Middle, Destany Davis from Bartow High, Kyle Jackson from Compass Middle Charter, James Browning from Gause Academy, Travis Weatherholtz from Gause Academy, Cristal Noriega from Summerlin Academy and Katelyn Chambers from Union Academy.

From Fort Meade, Simeon Beckford and Shane Pierce from Fort Meade Middle-Senior will be honored.

In the event, middle and high school student honorees are joined by mentors who helped them make positive changes and noticeable improvements in grade point average, attendance, general disposition and attitude toward school or themselves.

This year’s keynote speaker is Winter Haven City Manager Deric C. Feacher.

Scheduled guests include Superintendent of Schools Kathryn M. LeRoy, Polk State College President Dr. Eileen Holden, and Polk Education Foundation Executive Director Susan Copeland.

The awards take place at 7:30 p.m. Nora Mayo Hall is at 500 3rd St. NW, Winter Haven.

Early release day Wednesday

Wednesday, April 9 is an early release for Polk County Public Schools. Students will be released 2 ½ hours earlier than their normal times. Parents who have their children on parent pickup must be in line for the early release time.

Job shadowing slips needed

Bartow High School has asked students to get their job shadowing and college visit permission forms to their English teacher this week.

To provide upperclassmen an opportunity to explore post-secondary options, maximize resources during testing, and administer testing in the most efficient manner, all juniors and seniors are to participate in job shadowing and college visits on Monday, April 14 and Tuesday, April 15 during Grade 10 FCAT Reading 2.0 administration.

Students whose forms are returned will be marked as an excused absence, and students who do not return their forms and are absent will be marked as an unexcused absence. Juniors and seniors who report to school on Monday and Tuesday will report to the cafeteria for both days to be supervised.

Tournament this weekend

The Summerlin Academy/Union Academy Archery Club Annual Four Person Golf Scramble which was rained out two weeks ago is scheduled this weekend at the Bartow Golf Course. It starts at 1 p.m. and it costs $60 per person or $240 for a team of four. That includes golf, dinner and prizes.

This is a fundraiser to supplement expenses for the team’s travel to the National Archery Tournament in Louisville, Ky.

The Bartow Golf Course is at 190 Idlewood Ave., Bartow. Call 863-512-2055 for information.

Oklahoma coming to the high school

The Bartow High School Performing Arts group plans six shows of Oklahoma later this month at the high school.

Tickets for the show are $15 for adults, $10 for students and $1 for children 7 and younger. They can be purchased at

The shows are scheduled at 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 10 and Friday, April 11. And on the weekend there are two shows daily at 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 12 and Sunday, April 13.

There will be a 50/50 raffle after intermission just prior to Act II. Tickets will be on sale before the show and during intermission.

Student Art Show reception Thursday

Students from Union Academy Magnet Middle International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme have scheduled an art show and reception from 6-7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 10 at the Bartow Public Library.

Sponsored by the school’s art department, it features work from students in the sixth, seventh and eighth grades. There are paintings, drawings, ceramics and digital work. And there will be a section dedicated to Holocaust.

The work will be on display at the library in April and May in the lobby on the second floor and can be seen during business hours there. Copies of digital images can be ordered for $25. Patrons can place an order at the reception desk or by contacting Beverly Williams at or at Union Academy 534-7435. A portion of the proceeds will benefit the Union Academy Art Department.

Christine Roslow can be reached at

Reader Comments (0)

Previous Page | Next Page

Submit your comment below:


* = Required information

Comments that include profanity, personal attacks, or antisocial behavior such as "spamming", "trolling", or any other inappropriate material will be removed from the site. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our terms of use. You are fully responsible for the content you post. All comments must comply with the Terms and Conditions of this site and by submitting comments you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.