Sun Subscriber Website Login

Please wait....

News Story
Updated: 02/27/2014 08:00:03AM

Pence represents DeSoto as top STEM scholar

Share this story:


Front Row: Mary Jane Tappen, Allison Farr (Hardee HS, Hardee County), Abigail Austin (UF Lab School), Eve Pence (DeSoto HS, DeSoto County), Jewelisia Fagg (East Gadsden HS, Gadsden County), Sarah Boullard (Vernon HS, Washington County), Donavan Ebersole (Blountstown HS, Calhoun County), Priyanka Patel (Columbia HS, Columbia County), Erin Dady (Bethlehem HS, Holmes County), Magali Salinas (LaBelle HS, Hendry County), Carlie Dennard (Palatka HS, Putnam County), Courtney Strickland (Madison HS, Madison County) , Pam Stewart.

Back Row: Michael Daniel (Okeechobee HS, Okeechobee County), Bronson Bass (Moore Haven Jr/Sr HS, Glades County), Stefan Roberts (Jefferson HS, Jefferson County), Rohan Patel (Taylor HS, Taylor County), William Hosford (Liberty HS, Liberty County), Justin Barrier (Wewahitchka HS, Gulf County), Wes Fegely (South Walton HS, Walton County), Chaseon Tatanto (Franklin HS, Franklin County).

Text Size:

Florida’s top performing STEM students were recently recognized as Sunshine State Scholars and given the opportunity to attend a two-day event in Orlando, Feb. 13-14. It was an event that could change the course of their future as they learned why Florida is the best place to learn and pursue an exciting career.

Each school district throughout Florida selected its top 11th grade student based on their academic achievements in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). These students, along with their parents and a teacher chosen by each student, were invited to participate in the annual Sunshine State Scholars program. Eve Pence was chosen to represent DeSoto County schools.

You are currently not logged in
By logging in you can see the full story.

Subscribe to 
							the E-Edition
Get the Sun Delivered