Sun Subscriber Website Login



Please wait....
News Story
Updated: 06/11/2014 04:28:06PM

Fort Meade seniors earn scholarships, awards

Share this story:

Loren McCutchen was mistress of ceremonies, and offered the welcoming remarks as well as the Pledge of Allegiance.


Zachary Taylor was master of ceremonies for the event, and offered closing remarks.

Text Size:

Dozens of Fort Meade Middle Senior High School graduates were recently honored with a number of different scholarships and awards.

The citations covered a wide range of criteria, from academics and athletics to community service.

Lauren McCutchen and Zachary Taylor served as mistress and master of ceremonies for the evening, and school district Deputy Superintendent Jacqueline Byrd was a special guest for the event held in the school auditorium.

Following is a list of the honorees:

AMSCOT Financial scholarship ($500), Ashley Mullis; Ben Hill Griffin Inc. Scholarship ($1,500), Trey Porter; Harrison Family Scholarship ($1,500), Shania Patterson; Fort Meade Civic Club/Peace River Packing Company Scholarship ($2,000), Kellyn Miley; Mid-Florida Credit Union/Rebecca Keith Scholarship ($4,000), Ahlia Moore; Mitchell “Mike” Sr. Stiles Scholarship ($1,500), Trey Porter; Polk State College Academic Scholarship (full tuition for two years), Shania Patterson; Fort Meade American Legion Post 23 Scholarship ($1,000), Michael Delacerda and Allison Peralta; and Bartow Board of Realtors Lucille King Scholarship ($500), Shania Patterson.

Also, Florida Frontiersman Scholarship ($500), Kellyn Miley, Ashley Mullis, Shania Patterson, Allison Peralta and Daniel Watson; Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship ($1,000), Kellyn Miley; Bailey Family Foundation ($5,000, renewable for four years for a total of $20,000), Trey Porter; Southeastern University Academic Scholarship ($7,500), Trey Porter; Fancilli Scholarship (full tuition to Polk State College for two years), Hank Campbell; Palm Beach Atlantic University Academic Scholarship ($7,000), Jasmine Grissette.

Also, Florida A & M Presidential Scholarship ($4,000), Loren McCutchen; Florida A & M President’s Special Scholarship ($4,000), Ahlia Moore; Warner University Academic Scholarship ($8,000), Clayton Monroe; Warner University Presidential Scholarship ($5,000), Allison Peralta.

Sports scholarships: Malik Brown (baseball), Columbia State Community College; Tobias Culpepper (baseball), South Florida Community College; Derek King (baseball), Hillsborough Community College; Clayton Monroe (football), Warner University; Jay Smith (football), Southeastern University.

Lakeland Ledger Silver Garland Award: D.J. King (athletics), Zachary Lynch (performing arts), Kellyn Miley (citizenship) and Shania Patterson (vocational/technology); UthMpact Leadership Program, Hank Campbell and Trey Porter; Minority Achievement Program, D.J. King, Lidia Macedo, Loren McCutchen, Allison Peralta and Jay Smith, $500 scholarship.

Also: Daughters of the American Revolution “Good Citizen,” Trey Porter; DAR American History, Trey Porter; Woodmen of the World American History, Shania Patterson; Army Reserve National Scholar Athlete Award, Kellyn Miley and Trey Porter; United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award, Jasmine Grissette and Trey Porter; USMC Scholastic Excellence Award, Kellyn Miley and Trey Porter; USMC Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence, Michael Delacerda.

National Honor Society: Sammy Gordon, Loren McCutchen, Kellyn Miley, Ashley Mullis, Shania Patterson, Allison Peralta, Jay Smith and Caleb Whited.

Student Council: Loren McCutchen, Kellyn Miley, Shania Patterson, Jay Smith, Shania Reas and Hannah Woods.

Community Service Awards (1-49 hours): Mirella Andrez, Kellan Baine, Rachel Harden, D.J. King, Haley LaFerney, Delores Martinez, Norma Martinez-Penaloza, Autumn McKinney, Zebrik Morton, Tad Moseley, Shania Reas, Katie Sherrer and Hannah Woods.

Community Service Awards (50-99 hours): Hank Campbell, Gema Garcia, Krista Hrusecky, Zachary Lynch, Allison Peralta, Lucia Reyes and Caleb Whited.

Community Service Awards (100-249 hours): Darian Bream, Aaron Diaz, Trey Porter and Michele Williams.

Community Service Awards (250 or more hours): Malik Brown, Michael Delacerda, Sammy Gordon, Dylan Linares, Erick Macedo, Cynthia McCard, Loren McCutchen, Kellyn Miley, Ahlia Moore, Ashley Mullis, Shania Patterson, Amanda Sanchez, Jay Smith, Daniel Watson and Mari Wright.

Honor Roll with High Honor Distinction: Kellyn Miley, Shania Patterson, Trey Porter and Shania Reas.

Honor Roll with High Honor Recognition: Hank Campbell, Samuel Gordon, Derek King, Lidia Macedo, Ashley Mullis, Allison Peralta and Jay Smith.

Honor Roll with Honor Recognition: Mirella Andrez, Darian Bream, Malik Brown, Gema Garcia, Keith Gunter, Jose Hernandez, Krista Hrusecky, Loren McCutchen, Ahlia Moore, Caleb Whited and Mari Wright.


• Agriculture: Sammy Gordon, Shania Patterson and Hannah Woods.

• Art: Erick Garcia and Jay Smith (Art 2DI), Zachary Lynch (Art 2DII), Krista Hrusecky, Kellyn Miley and Shania Reas (AP Art 2D).

• Band: All State Award in Music, Michael Delacerda

• Business: Trey Porter (web design), Ashley Mullis (introduction to information technology), and Lorena Velasquez (business software).

• English: Outstanding advance placement English languages student, Shania Patterson; outstanding advanced placement English literature student, Kellyn Miley; outstanding English IV student, Lorena Velasquez.

• Family and Consumer Science: Krista Hrusecky and Haley LaFerney (outstanding student); Kyle Campbell and Nancy Hernandez Perez (most improved student).

• ITV: Jaren Barfield (anchor of the year) and Ahlia Moore (student of the year).

• Music: Mari Wright (top chorus student).

• Social Studies: AP U.S. Government and Politics, Kellyn Miley and Shania Patterson (top students); Trey Porter (most improved student); AP macroeconomics, Kellyn Miley and Shania Patterson (top students), Michael Delacerda (most improved student); Economics, Mirella Andrez, Malik Brown and Clayton Monroe; Government, Malik Brown, Trey Gunter and Caleb Whited.

• Spanish: Spanish II, Shania Patterson.

• Yearbook: Shania Patterson (editor), Shania Reas (co-editor).

• Exceeding Expectations: Deja’ Windham.

Presenters for the evening included Susan Copeland, Jessica Buchanan, Allen Hancock, Charles Perry, Paulette Gillispie, Sal Capra, Staff Sgt. Bryant Nicholls, Sgt. Jennifer L. Beck, Elizabeth Rassmussen, Stacia Filyaw and Matthew Blankenship.

Reader Comments (0)

Previous Page | Next Page

Submit your comment below:


* = Required information

Comments that include profanity, personal attacks, or antisocial behavior such as "spamming", "trolling", or any other inappropriate material will be removed from the site. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our terms of use. You are fully responsible for the content you post. All comments must comply with the Terms and Conditions of this site and by submitting comments you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.